Morning Hot Beverage

March 5, 2009 at 10:43 pm (Review) (, , , )

I was driving in one morning and decided to get a hot beverage on the way into work.  I don’t do it very often but was paying close attention to the coffee places by the side of the road.  I passed three of these stands all in a row that were advertising their “bikini baristas“.  What makes matters worse, is that this is on the way to Boeing and all the other engineering places that are in the area.  So many people pass this area every morning.  Needless to say, I was a bit scandalized.

To be honest, I had seen another of these stands before (during the summer) and naively assumed that they were trying to save money on air conditioning during the summer by wearing less clothing.  This practical reason was turned on its head as they continued this practice during the winter.   No money to be saved during the winter with a lack of accoutrement.

I know “sex sells” in our society, but since when has our society become so depraved where even our coffee must be served with a hint of sex?  As a female, I’m concerned what message this sends to not only the baristas but others driving by.  Bikinis have a tendency not to tell someone, “I’m learning the trade of a sales person and hope to grow myself in this job and in future jobs.”  The ideas of what recruiting looks for this makes my head spin.  Another thing I realized, many of these girls are high school students.

Well, there is my two cents (which turned out to be a nickle), so I’ll end with this, “Bikini Baristas, get some clothes on!”

1 Comment

  1. busybees42 said,

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

