Time Travel

September 23, 2008 at 7:57 pm (Introspective)

Ever since a young age Time Travel has held a fascination to me.  I blame an overdosage of Science Fiction at an early age.  Was it Star Trek’s “City on the Edge of Forever“, Mark Twain’s “A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court“, or Micheal Crichton’s “Timeline”?  I blame all.

Benefits of an Interest in Time Travel

A healthy fascination does come in quite handy for history classes.  Nothing makes a lecture more alive than imagining what it would be like to live through the social upheaval.  Sometimes thinking about how you think the crisis could have been adverted, but then realizing that in a small way your own personal history was impacted by those very same events.  How would things had been different if Russia had won the Cold War?  What if Hitler had decided to stay an author?  What if Beethoven had decided he wouldn’t compose since he was deaf?

Modern Day Time Travel

Before I go much further, I have to note that I don’t think we have the technology to time travel and doubt we ever will.  This doesn’t mean though that we can’t do a little bit of “time traveling.”  My first exposure to this was learning about World War II in a class.  At the same time I was helping house sit for a elderly family-friend’s home.  When they returned they inquired what I was learning about in school.  I told them World War II.  I was surprised to find that the husband had fought in World War II.  I started talking about what I had learned and he started telling me “how it really happened.”  Seeing him talk about the war brought it alive for me.

Later I volunteered in a nursing home and I got the same experience.  People who had seen what I only read in history books.  Sure, you may say that they had a bias on the events, but I would submit that the authors of the history books do as well.

Leave a Reply

